Why it’s okay to maybe not want to travel to the USA for a while

Let me say this first: I’m not here to talk about politics, and I don’t want to tell you what’s right and what’s wrong. All of the people who voted did a great job of using their voice to make a difference. Whether the outcome is positive or not is not mine to judge.

I certainly am not trying to bad-mouth the States, one thing everyone must know about me is that I love this country and it is my No. 1 go-to place for a good three-week explore-vacation or a long road trip. I love the fantastic cities there and the beautiful landscapes and the wonderfully weird people. This place is unique and full of wonders and I will definitely go back as soon as possible.

But maybe not for now. Maybe not until the storm has passed and the chaos has dissolved. While I was shocked about the outcome of the recent presidential elections, I was not surprised. I know that the people of the USA need a change to happen to be able to move forward, and Trump promised them that. Whether his articulation and choice of words reflected that in the best possible way is obviously more than debatable. Some of the things he said are horrendous to all kinds of different groups of people like he was deliberately trying to piss them off. Some of the things were down right lies. But I’m still not entirely sure whether he only said those extreme things to ‘poke the beast’ or whether he truly meant them. He is a reality TV star with almost never-ending resources of family money. He could have been playing everyone for two years just to get people to vote for him – and it worked.

A part of me wants to believe that that’s what’s happening and that he isn’t actually the nasty personality he has shown us. This part of me also wants to give him the benefit of the doubt and see what he will come up with, see if he could maybe do his job half-decent.

But what I can absolutely not get on board with, and what’s making me feel like I don’t want to go back to the States until his reign is over is the ripple-effect his outrageous campaigning has had on people in the states. The Ku-Klux-Klan marching in broad daylight, Swastika’s being sprayed on the walls of schools, gay people being beaten up…yes, these things happened before as well, but we can see them through a magnifying glass now. We are more aware that they are happening because of Trump. We know that some things he said in public were taken by a few as a permission to live out their vile behaviour, and they think their president will appreciate their efforts.

If he wants to be a president he will have to take a stand against this. He will have to put those people back into their place and make sure that everyone, even the people who didn’t vote for him, are treated equally and fairly as the constitution stipulates. Until he gets this wildfire of hate under control, I personally will not go back to the States. It will probably hurt me more than him, but this is the choice I’ve made at the moment. Until I see some positive change, and I feel it’s safe and sound to travel there again, especially on my own.

So if you’ve been feeling down and sad about the election – that’s fine! You can feel all the feels. You can even question whether you would want to visit the States or not. You can set your own boundaries. But here is the thing: It’ll all be okay in the end. It’s fine. Things will be fine. Let’s hold on to that.

Leave a Reply

